E-portfolio

Before taking this course I had very little interest in popular culture and I had very little knowledge of what popular culture was. I also wasn’t a big fan of online courses but after taking this course I realized that not only can I work at home but I can lean at home as well. Through this course I gained and improved multiple skills. I was fairly new to virtual community courses but I managed to familiarize myself quickly with my group and the format of the class. Through the discussions and the activities done in this class, I was able to recognize things about myself that I didn’t before through other sources; class mates and the course content. I realized after the first couple of weeks that the goals, list set in the beginning of the course, needed much improvement.

“One of my strengths in coming up with visual ideas when working in groups. Understanding the problem and collaborating with group members to come to a solution is something that I do well. One challenge that I face is presenting the idea orally to the public. Since English is my second language my word choice is much smaller so getting mu idea across is challenging and is something that I need to work on. This term the mirror blog and a peer review and will definitely help me improve my communication and my writing skills…  In order for a group project to be successful each individual must want to participate. Being able to communicate with one another, providing honest feedback, and not be afraid to share ideas is the key to group work. Also being enthusiastic and letting everyone share their piece will create a successful projects.”

The main goals I set for this term was to improve my communication skills and be able to actively participate in a group, share my ideas, and be able to provide helpful feedback. Also I wanted to improve my writing abilities by writing my making the writing flow more and also make my sentences more powerful by choosing better words. Improving my writing by making my word choice and sentences more powerful was challenging since my word choice is limited. What I felt I did well in was group participation and sharing my ideas. In most blogs I was able to connect with the writers and build on their ideas and concepts. I found this to be my strength. Also, I believe I was able to provide helpful feedback, especially in the mirror blog post, as well as receiving feedback. After receiving the peer review letter form a class mate, I realized my essay was written incorrectly and the way I represent engineers in media is only the negative aspect. After reading the review I was able to improve the essay by showing that even though engineers are most films portray engineer’s negatively, some films show how engineers truly are. This doesn’t only show the positive features of engineers but it motivates others to reconsider their career choices and possibly chose a path in the engineering field.

Throughout this course I improved and expanded on being an effective team member and not only providing advice but receiving it as well. In the peer review a student replied sayingThe Tony Stark reference was a good example as well. However, it seems you may have misinterpreted his portrayal because I do not think “evil” is the right word choice to describe him. The words I think of when talking about Tony Stark is like philanthropist, playboy and hero is the best words, not evil. First of all, he created the suit to save his own life. You could use the example of when his chest gets wounded by his own missile to portray that it is careless to how he got injured due to his own invention. But he learns that his weapons were getting in the wrong hands and harming innocent folk so he shut down its production. He did end up saving the world multiple times so calling him “evil” may not be the best word because he was clearly portrayed as a hero. However, you can use this example as a counterargument as you lack one. Instead of twisting the Iron Man reference you should utilize it as the other perspective to your paper. Tony Stark is a wealthy and very charming man. He does not have that sloppy look like your previous primary sources. Because he can use his own inventions to save the world, it can also inspire young engineers. Iron Man can spark our youth to get into this field because he makes it cool and trendy.” At first thought this seemed wrong but as I thought about the idea of a positive portrayal I found that using Iron Man as a positive source will make the blog much more effective and interesting. I also review another student’s blog and provided similar feedback and gave advice on improving some things to make the blog better and have more meaning. Being able to work with others and accept others ides makes a stronger connection between the group members and makes the class more comfortable.

Throughout this term I not only learned about popular culture but I also learned to write better and be a better group member. The goals we set in the beginning f the term I feel were met by the group.”Over the past term my group has supported these things and replied to post honestly and retuned positive feedback regarding my ideas. Through this  the group often built on each other’s ideas resulting in closer relationships then the first weeks and now we feel more comfortable with each other.” being able to communicate properly with team members can be extremely useful in the future. With the skills I acquired here such as teamwork and writing abilities I will be able to do much more in my future career and job. I will be more effective at work and be more successful when working with other teams. I will also take the knowledge of popular culture and the effects media has on our perceptions and use this information to help make media shape better images of people. It was a pleasure being in this course and working in a group of diverse people.

 

Aleksey Prozapas

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Eportfolios by paleksey. Bookmark the permalink.

About paleksey

My name is Aleksey and I am form Ukraine. Currently I am a sophomore majoring in electrical engineering. I am excited to be in this class and would love to learn more about cultures.