Eportfolio, Chris Wiese

Popular Culture is a very broad term describing many aspect make up a culture.  I came into this class not knowing what to truly expect.  I like to avoid many of the topics that are prevalent in popular culture but then there are many I am a part of.  In the begging of this course I wanted to learn how to communicate in a blog setting for one, and to improve my writing and communication skills.  For the most part I saw more challenges for myself then I did strengths.  Reading and writing each have their challenges for me but the biggest challenge for me was to get my thoughts together to write something smooth flowing and easy to read.  Another big challenge was working in a class setting that was entirely online and involve many forms of multimedia to communicate.  Navigating the online course lead to many instances of confusion and frustration, but by the end of the term I began to understand how it worked and how to contribute to the class as a whole.

As the term went on we were required to respond to several posts and to other student’s posts.  I have had some experience in reviewing other students but it was for architectural finals and projects.  The type of reviewing in this class seemed to be more thorough and involved a lot of reading and written responses.  In the begging my responses seemed very general and I didn’t think to respond as if I were talking to that person.

“I never thought to think about the content itself as advertising. When thinking about the question and ads I immediately thought of pop up ads or commercials in front of YouTube videos. Naturally these are the ones we see the most and we are consciously aware of. We all have our own unique personality or persona, and when we view or browse material regarding these subjects we are probably exposed to less obvious advertising. When I look for new parts for my rifle I often see a myriad of other products that are similar to what I’m looking for which in turn gets me to stay on the page longer and look at the many options. It’s crazy how whatever we look into regarding an interest or aspect of our lives it could be a form of advertising itself.”

I feel towards to end of the class my tone began to change and I think my writing loosened up and began to sound more like a conversation.

This is crazy! I had no idea about this until i read your post, an example of how information travels through different sources. I grew up on the Simpsons and I can understand how this could be such a big story. You mention that this story seems trivial in the grand scheme of things but I figure I could argue against that. If you look at the incredible time span this show has covered you can imagine the millions of people that have been influenced by this shower in the US and beyond. Even though I no longer watch the show I see Simpson’s references all over pop culture. From other cartoons, to live action reenactments of the intro, the scope of the shows influence is immense. When something that has reached so many people, news of a significant change or possible ending is big news. Even though the show might not attract our attention anymore, I imagine it is still better than some of the other stuff that’s out these days.

I feel that one of the biggest skills I learned from this class was how to use different forms of multimedia together.  We were encouraged to post hyperlinks, photos, and videos into our responses and blogs.  This was a technique that I have used in social media such as Facebook posts but never for a written assignment such as out blogs.  It really adds to the story you are trying to tell by giving it more depth for the person to experience.  When talking about a certain topic instead of just explaining it you could provide a link to a video clip so the reader could experience it firsthand.  I was able to use this in my Looking into the Mirror Blog to help explain my popular culture artifacts.

“As portrayed in the show, companionship, friendship, and love can truly heal.  This show takes great strides to show that veterans are people like everyone else.”

In all this class helped me to produce a more clear and concise writing style that began to feel more like a conversation than a plain response.

