Brazilian women, so sexy.

imagestumblr_m7gtftbsbl1rzro71o1_1280-1

Brazilian, as defined by the Oxford Dictionary is known as a native or inhabitant of Brazil, or a style of waxing a woman’s public hair in which almost all the hair is removed, with only a very small central strip remaining (see the Oxford English Dictionary at http://www.oed.com.proxy.lib.pdx.edu/). As a female American/Brazilian citizen it is quit terrifying to see that in the definition of Brazilian, in the English Dictionary, as a definition for modification on a women’s body. Since my ethnicity makes up a huge part of who I am and, who I am continuing to become, I wanted to study something in our modern popular culture that would interest me. Therefore, I decided I would research how the representation of Brazilian women in music videos such as: I Got It From My Mama, Beautiful ft. Pharrell Williams, and P.D.A. (We Just Don’t Care), gives the wrong idea of how Brazilian women are outside of American culture.

I Got It From My Mama, a well thought out music video produced by will.i.am and A&M, is dedicated to the Brazilian women. In the opening scene of the music video you notice advertising for Rio De Janeiro, Brazil in the magazine that will.i.am is holding. When the magazine is lowered you are on one of the beautiful beaches of Rio De Janeiro, Brazil. The camera pans from one beautiful tan/dark women to the next, dancing in their small sized bathing suits. In this music video the women are used as objects to express their status and identity.

Meaning women are used to show the rappers status in society, and the identities of their culture, in this case Brazilian’s are represented as sexual. Consumers consuming this video now relate Brazilian women with a consumer culture. They want to have Brazilian women on their arms to represent them in society and to showcase the identity of these “sexual” women by their side. The whole music video only purpose is to portray/show beautiful Brazilian women, and how their sexual identities can hold up a rapper’s status in society.

In artifact two, Beautiful ft. Pharrell Williams, we see another portrayal of Brazilian women and their “sensual” bodies. The music video was directed by Chris Robinson of Partizan Entertainment and produced by Renata Chuquer. This music video took place in Lapa district, Rio de Janeiro, which they conveyed as the Brazilian favela. A favela is known as a shabby town, also a town where all the poor people of Brazil live. The music video opens up with a little boy speaking Portuguese and handing Snoop Dogg the phone, then the video starts.

The music video shows a lot of Rio De Janeiro, Brazil and then it starts to primarily show the women of Brazil.  In the beginning scenes you see the women of Brazil in their small bathing suits, hanging around Snoop Dogg and Pharrell. It starts to create a certain allusion, of the women of Brazil. The allusion is created by what Author Jasmin Mitchell would call the Imagining of the Mulatta. The main purpose of this article is to essential discuss how popular media represents mulatta/mulata (woman of African and European descent). In particular, this video specially sexualizes mulatta women and portrays them as the dominate in the Brazilian culture, although they are the least dominate. Again, Snoop Dogg and Pharrell are using women to represent, and demonstrate their status in society.

In my final source, P.D.A. (We Just Don’t Care), the music video concerns the sexual attractiveness of women through the lyrics. In the opening of the music video you are introduced too, two different couples exploring Brazil in different ways. The younger couple exploring the more rundown areas of Brazil, the favela. They are riding around in a little motorcycle smiling and laughing. The older couple is exploring Brazil through black and white camera in a more sophisticated manner. They are getting lost in their love through the camera lens.

In the middle of the music video you see a little bit of an allusion of the younger couple being a reflection of the older couple. After this scene you see the older couple getting lost in making love in the bedroom, while the younger couple gets lost in the night life of Brazil. It is a small demonstration of the country of Brazil and more a storyline of the love of the couples. Although the music video does a good job at keeping sexualized images to a medium. We still uncover the dominate theme of Brazilian women used as status for the artist singing. We see this in the filming of the video, and through critically analyzing the lyrics. The women in this video are more reserved in identity, but are still extremely sexualized.

Conclusion

With the critical investigating of these three music video I discovered that majority of music videos that have depictions of the Brazilian women, the mulata women, as extremely sexual and a social status. Although all the depictions are similar because they are music videos, I would challenge my finding when looking at other popular culture mediums. A wide range of other mediums (news, social media, and etc.) also portray Brazilian women in this sexual manner. I strongly believe that major of mediums involving Brazilian women are sexualized and unorthodox. When was the time you saw a Brazilian women represented differently?  Thus is why I feel that Brazilian women are poorly represented in modern popular culture. Do you feel the same?

Work Cited

Crean, L. (2001) Women, Race and Popular Culture in Brazil, Journal of Beliefs & Values, 22:2,      229-230, DOI: 10.1080/13617670120079523

 

Dogg, S. [emimusic]. (2009, February 24). Beautiful ft. Pharrell Williams. [Video File]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_FE194VN6c4

 

 

Legend, J. [johnlegendVEVO]. (2009, February 24). P.D.A. (We Just Don’t Care). [Video File].     Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZwbNesQeods

 

 

Mitchell, J. (2000). “Popular Culture Imaginings of the Mulatta: Constructing Race, Gender,    Sexuality, and Nation in the United States and Brazil”.

 

Will.I.Am.[williamVEVO]. (2009, November 22). I Got It From My Mama. [Video File].       Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XomQLhjCYYk

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Fall 2016 by vmagnob. Bookmark the permalink.

About vmagnob

Hello followers! My name is Vitoria! California native, but now Portland, OR explorer. Working on finding my true self, solving daily problems, and uncovering the world.

8 thoughts on “Brazilian women, so sexy.

  1. Your blog post was very well written! I agree completely thank Brazilian women are sexualized. Even the word “Brazilian” is sexualized. The first thing I think of when I hear Brazilian is “Brazilian Butt-Lifts,” because that has been advertised so much on television. Another thing that is associated with the word Brazilian is bikini waxing. Both these things are of somewhat sexual nature, focusing on looks rather than the culture. It seems like popular culture has made Brazil known for it’s women, rather than known for it’s culture. I definitely feel like Brazilian women are underrepresented and overly sexualized. I don’t even know if I can think of any roles that they had played in American media where they are not sexualized. I cannot think of any leading roles with Brazilians in movies either. I wish American culture was more inclusive of other cultures.

    You did a really good job organizing your blog post and it captures your audiences attention. Your sources are great for this post. Nice job!

  2. I found your post to be very interesting, for me personally I never really think about how there are so many beauty services deem “Brazilian” and how that is a portrayal of how America see Brazil. I have always thought that tings like a Brazilian wax or blow out were call ed Brazilian because it sounds exotic and relaxing. When I hear Brazilian I think f beaches, vacation, tanning, relaxing, and so on and that is what would draw me the a “Brazilian” beauty treatment. Now after reading your post I can see how “Brazilian” is an abused term and is used to create this false image that poorly represents what the actual culture of Brazil means. I can see it being offensive to those who are Brazilian like yourself. Overall you make a great point and you chose some interesting artifacts to support your argument, I really enjoyed reading!

  3. Yes, I do think that Brazilian women are sexualized. It’s unfortunate really, how whenever I hear “Brazilian”, my mind automatically jumps to a conclusion that it will be tropical, exotic, and just unique in its own way. These days, with rap and/or hip-hop music, almost all the time, there has to be good looking women in the scene. Sex sells, and that’s what rappers and hip hop artists see, and they use that factor to promote their new song or video. We really don’t see the true beauty of Brazilian women, and it’s just very biased that the “good looking” women are shown, leading many people to believe that they are all like that. Society needs to see through all of the fake things, and really look towards the real beauty. At the end of the day, women are not sex objects; they should be treated and depicted in a better light.

  4. Hi there!
    I really enjoyed reading your post. It’s very well composed and its great to see how you’ve developed so much from the mentoring sessions. Just like you, I do think Brazilian women are overly sexualized and this can become such a great problem in society, especially when you’re Brazilian and it comes down to expectations. We miss what it really means to have a Brazilian culture and society fails to express that in many different ways. I love the sources that you’ve used, they really do get your point across and support your claims perfectly.

  5. Hey, Vitoria!

    I looked forward to reading this blog post. I remember back to when we were brainstorming ideas, and you got me thinking about the Brazilian identity, and in particular, I started to take notice of all the references to Brazilian women I encountered. And yikes, what a realization it was. Reading your blog, (which was an excellent read!), not only represented just how prolific this stereotype is, but also offered a look at a form of media I don’t usually indulge in; I’m not a fan of the kind of music that sourced the music videos. It would be interesting to me to see how this stereotype takes shape, if at all, through different music genres. Does the portrayal of Brazilian women in these music videos serve as a commentary on the culture of the music genre?

    Great work, excellent read!

  6. Hey!

    I really enjoyed reading your blog post. It was written very well and I like that you included the music videos in the post. I totally agree with what you had to say, Brazilian women are definitely very sexualized in pop culture. I also liked how you mentioned Brailizzan typically being connecting to beauty treatment. I think society needs to work on putting out different representations of Brazilian women and the Brazilian culture in general.

    Sewit

  7. I enjoyed how you tied in media that is really relevant to the youthful audience. Also how you acknowledge the different ways that the sexulaization of these women exist. I completely agree that Brazilian women are hyper sexulized. Also I enjoyed how you provided the definition of Brazilian and how the dictionary definition completely drives home your point. I noticed a lot that even westerner beauty standards, center around to image put forward by these women, which makes me think that they are sexulized because they model Westerner beauty standards. Overall great job, this was a well worded paper.

  8. Hey Victoria!
    I really enjoyed reading your post about the stereotype of Brazilians. The second I heard the word “Brazilian” I thought of the stereotype that is put on these women. You did a good job of finding evidence in pop culture that many of us will recognize immediately. they are relevant and help get your point across.

Comments are closed.