Women Career Stereotypes

Berlynn Deluna

Popular Culture

Big Picture Blog Post

Final Draft

Women Career Stereotypes in Popular Culture

I found a lot of interesting information for my topic on women career stereotypes. My primary sources taught me a lot about people’s attitudes towards women, gender roles and equality. This topic is significant to me because I personally want to pursue a career that is generally known as a “masculine career.” I would feel discouraged knowing that I’m treated differently because I am a female. A woman can do a job just as efficient as a man. In popular culture, women career choices are “predictable”. There are so many gender inequalities when it comes to career choices. I enjoyed completing the research analysis assignment and annotated bibliography because I found many different perspectives on women career choices. I also learned how these choices affect our popular culture. I used movies, TV shows and articles to get the best possible sources for my topic.

 

women fire fighter

G.I. Jane

The most reliable source I used was a movie called G.I. Jane. Demi Moore plays Jordan O’Neil, the main character of the movie. Jordan wanted to become a sniper for the military. The men laughed at her because they all thought there was no way that she would make it through the intense training. They tried to lessen the intensity of the training because she was a female. Jordan fought to be trained equally just like the men. She didn’t want to be treated different. I found it surprising how Jordan decided to shave her head to prove that she isn’t any different than the others. I also found it revealing how she decided to move in to the guys barracks. She refused to be treated differently. Jordan showed the men her dedication and willingness to be part of the combined reconnaissance training team. In my opinion, Jordan is a strong women that shows her audience how brave she is. She never gave up or let anyone stand in the way of her passion. This shows that all women are capable of doing anything they set their mind to.

Chicago PD

Another source I used was from a TV show called Chicago PD. The sergeant on the show promoted a female patrol officer to detective in the intelligence unit. Her new partner kept belittling and doubting her commitment and strengths because she is a woman. This show give examples of stereotypes based on women’s abilities when it comes to career choices. This episode was intended to prove that women can succeed in a dominant male position if given the opportunity. This episode was surprising to me because the patrol officer Burgess proved herself to the intelligence team that she is a super hard working female that could get the job done. The sergeant promoted Burgess because he also realized her strengths and abilities. Burgess’s new partner who has been a part of the intelligence team for a long time, doesn’t feel that she will be a good asset because she is a woman. He kept giving her a hard time until she proved she was the strong and capable police officer that she is. This shows the audience some struggles that women might have to face in order to be excepted. In my perspective, Burgess is a passionate women that earned her way up to become part of the detective team.

Chicago Fire

The last TV show I used for my topic was Chicago Fire. This episode was about a woman EMT promoted to become a fire fighter. Although she was already part of the fire station, the other fire fighters were doubting her abilities because she’s female. It was really hard for all the men to get used to having a female on their team. Once they noticed her drive and passion for the job, they opened up to her. This episode was very interesting to me because it made me really think about how many double standards there are when it comes to women career choices. I was surprised to see that Dawson, the female firefighter had to prove to the fire men that she was capable to do the job. They all noticed her drive and committed to become a firefighter when she was a paramedic but they still didn’t welcome her until she proved herself. I also found it surprising that even he fiance, the lieutenant doubted her abilities. He felt she should continue being a paramedic. This episode on Chicago Fire has opened my eyes on what women have to deal with in order to be considered equal.

I noticed a lot of similarities between all three of these sources. All of the women had to prove that they could do the job in order to be accepted. They were all treated the same at the beginning. These women have a similarity that they are passionate to help make the world a better place and nobody was going to stand in their way.

I also used a couple of articles online to back up some my evidence that I gathered from my topic. The article that stood out to me the most is called, “Untangling Life Goals and Occupational Stereotypes in Men’s and Women’s Career Interest.” This article focuses more on which careers women and men choose to pursue. The occupational aspect part of the article states that both men and women choose their careers based on gender stereotypes. Women generally like to stick to careers that are categorized for women such as a nurse, receptionist or a teacher. Men like to pursue a masculine career type such as fire fighter, construction worker or police officer unless the feminine career pays more. This article relates to my primary sources because it has to do with women career choices. While my main focus is how people make career stereotypes, this article differs because it talks about how women make career choices based on these gender inequalities. Although, it is not entirely the same topic, I really enjoyed reading this article because it is in comparison to my topic.

Another article I chose to use as a secondary source is called, “How Stereotypes impair women’s careers in science.” This article was very interesting to me. It talks about career stereotypes between women and men. They did a study based on an arithmetic task to see the difference in gender performance. Both genders performed equally. I found it interesting to find out that men are more prone to talk highly about their skill abilities.  Talking about previous career performance does help to lower these gender stereotypes but doesn’t eliminate it completely. I was shocked to find out that both men and women are more likely to hire men. This compares to my primary source because it gives me a lot of information about women stereotypes. This article confirmed my beliefs and ideals on career inequalities. My topic is focused more on women choosing more of a masculine career and the stereotypes that it comes with.

Conclusions:

I found my topic very intriguing. To this day, there are so many career gender inequalities. Many women have to deal with these problems all the time. I don’t think it is fair how these stereotypes are still a huge issue in our society. Many people watch these shows such as both men and women that are interested in our criminal justice system. This audience could draw two types of conclusions from these sources. They might realize that these stereotypes need to change. They also might agree with the gender inequalities. I feel these shows could help improve the mindset of this audience’s views based on gender career issues. On the other hand, how will this improve by portraying the same stereotypical messages in the media? Everyone is created equal and should be treated equally.

 

         

Learning Moments:

I really enjoyed our looking for researches assignment. With this only being my second quarter at Portland State, I had never used the PSU Library to research. This assignment was very helpful. The steps and instructions to help us navigate through the online library was very efficient. Now that I’ve completed this assignment I feel confident to research information for future classes. I also really enjoyed our weekly discussions. This is my first online course I’ve taken. I was little nervous to take this course online but I found it very helpful that these discussions kept me engaged throughout our discussions. One blog post that really caught my attention was about advertisements. I learned a lot from this discussion. The videos and articles about advertisement really caught my attention. We had to watch and analyze the Adidas advertisement that involved many different celebrities. After this blog post, I’ve noticed myself analyzing many different advertisements. I also enjoyed reading all of the interesting comments on everyone’s opinions about this topic.

 

 

Work Cited
Reuben, Ernesto “How stereotypes impair women’s careers in science” 2014, 25 March. Web.

http://search.library.pdx.edu/PSU:all:TN_gale_ofg364691802

 

Barth, Joan “Untangling Life Goals and Occupational Stereotypes in Men’s and Women’s Career Interest” 2015. Web.

http://search.library.pdx.edu/PSU:all:TN_springer_jour10.1007/s11199-015-0537-2

 

Wolf, Dick (Producer). Michael Brandt, Derek Haas (Creators). 2012. Chicago Fire.

 

Dick Wolf (Producer). Michael Brandt, Derek Haas (Creators) 2014, 8th January. Chicago PD.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Women Career Stereotypes

  1. Hello!

    Reading the first paragraph where you mention the movie G.I. Jane I liked that you have a brief description of the movie but it was enough to show some examples where she had to prove herself to the other men. For someone who has not seen this movie, the scenes you chose to talk about were perfect and I could really imagine those scenes just based on other movies. I also agree that the other two tv shows you showed and the movie all connect in the way the women had to prove themselves. Overall great blog post! I am curious, what is your job you want to do that is masculine as you mentioned in the beginning?

  2. Hi Berlynn,

    Your blog post regarding women career is very good and concise. You stated in the beginning which you are going to a “male-dominated” career gives this post more credibility. In the media, females typically have feminine careers. Your sources of the three movies are very good. It shows which women can be in the military, a firefighter, and the detective. In movies, women who go to these careers get underestimated by men. This is true in reality as well. Since the creation of humanity, women are viewed as inferior who should do housework. Sadly, this idea still exists today. I recently watched Hidden Figures, it is a very compelling movie about three Black women who worked for NASA in the 60s. They were constantly being discriminated at work. However, they made history at the end and proved which women are just as smart and even better than men. Overall, your blog post has an interesting topic. Everyone human is created equally and gender should not play a big role in career choice.

  3. Hi Berlynn,

    I really enjoyed reading your blog about how you differentiate women in diverse careers from the popular media’s portrayal of women in “predictable” careers. By analyzing television shows like Chicago P.D. and Chicago Fire, you clearly show how the media’s (specifically television) perception is changing; women are taking on more powerful roles such as the detective on an intelligence team. The women in those shows you described are bold, intelligent, and passionate with their jobs. On a side note, I like the Rosie the Riveter poster you added at the end because the U.S. owes a great deal to the women during World War II who worked in factories and shipyards. Highlighting on what you stated in your post, women are definitely capable of doing “masculine” work.

    In addition to your post, I’d like to mention an article I read on LinkedIn which talked about a few suggestions to close the gender gap in STEM-related education: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/closing-gender-gap-computer-science-physics-maria-klawe
    This is a great read in addition to your blog post because it introduces some ideas such as how, “[departmental] culture can play a crucial role in attracting women to STEM and sustaining their interest.” I find this statement interesting because if the educational and media cultures start to change towards attracting women to these technical fields, then we may see less stereotyping of women in “masculine” careers.

    Overall, fantastic work.

  4. This blog post is one of my favorites, mainly because of the artifacts you used, the way you analyzed your artifacts clearly show how the media is slowly changing the image they have created towards female roles. Focusing on television was a great idea as it’s a big part of the media people see, and is a big influence on people’s perception of different topics. I was very happy to see your artifacts depicting women taking on more powerful roles such as the detective on an intelligence team, as I was thinking, that this blog post would show how negative women’s roles in Hollywood are. The women in those shows you described are brave, intellectual, and are good at their jobs, and in many ways even better that their male counterparts which I found great. Like mentioned in a previous comment, I felt the addition of Rosie the Riveter poster at the end was a great touch, mainly because of how symbolic her image is, and how a lot of the time during the past centuries the women’s role was greatly unappreciated.

    Thank you so much for sharing!

  5. Berlynn,

    I think you might be interested in checking out Logan’s post if you haven’t done so already. He identifies as a white male who is in a male dominated field. He touches on the fact that there are definitely more men in his field than women, and he also tries to explore why there are more white males than more diverse groups in his pop-culture identity.

    I wish I would have watched G.I. Jane for my blog post. I chose my identity of a woman with short hair, and Daneen had suggested I watch it to add to my presentation, but I did not. It sounds like a great movie. I’ll have to make time to watch it during Spring Break.

    I also find it really interesting that both of our blog posts touch on a premise of women and their lack of opportunity of growth, or how people don’t take them seriously at first until they can prove that they are “tough” like men. It is as if women have to go through some sort of de-feminizing transformation to be worthy enough of respect or confidence by men, and I find that really sad.

  6. Hello, I really enjoyed reading your article for a variety of reasons. A few reasons in particular are that you effectively used your sources and incorporated them in a strong way. I think it is a good and true point that you made where you discuss that women are equally and in some events better at their jobs than their male opposers. You made a lot of good facts apparent. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Hello:
    it is a good paper with an excellent theme, and the topic is very interesting and worth to watch the whole page. We are taking about how woman should have equal rights as men in their career, but we still have so many gender inequalities in the society. The article called “Untangling Life Goals and Occupational” really help you topic, and helped you defined which careers women and men choose to pursue, and what the true meaning of working. You explained very well on how gender can affect their future on the types of job they are doing, and what might cause these gender inequalities.

  8. Hi Berlynn,

    Excellent blog post, I really enjoyed it. In the past I’ve gotten to work in two career fields that are probably thought of as male dominated, the US Army and the US Forest Service as a wild-land firefighter. That piece that you hit on with G.I Jane on standards was, and still is, a very big debate in the Army. The job I was most surprised with was when I did a summer with the forest service. Honestly, I was blown away because in the crew I was a part of there didn’t really seem to be any gender disparities. We all were expected to pull the same amount of weight, all slept on the same ground, you name it. As I’m writing this I’m realizing how much I’m failing at trying to explain what it was like. In my eyes at least there wasn’t any stigmas on being male or female. We all lived and worked in the same, often pretty tough and dirty, environment. It was a work environment unlike anything I’d ever been in. Personally, my biggest disappointment with the gender gaps in some career fields is the thought that someone is missing out on experiences that they might really want to do because it never occurred to them that it was even an option.

  9. Hello, I really enjoyed reading your blog post!

    Through out this post, you have illustrated an effective to your research topic. You have used key sources in order to back up your reasoning of the main goal of your paper. I like the pictures you have used to support your reasoning. I am a big fan of Chicago PD and I believe the females in this show typically have feminine careers. The other sources of the three movies are very good. It shows how women are represented in dominated career fields. For example, military and detective. Women who go to these careers get underestimated and treated unequally than men. Through the media platform females are viewed less and as a community we should not act and think to this unjust manner. Overall, your blog post great!

Comments are closed.