What You Carry When You Are A Mexican Male

While looking for topics to find for this paper, I was thinking of findings that might anger me, make me laugh for how accurate it was, and maybe even learn new things. I didn’t know what to expect when I was leaving the biased part behind me and trying to think of a new way to look at this information. For this research, I decided that I would look into Mexican males. They could be from Mexico or from The United States of America. I choose this topic because this is how I was raised in being proud of my culture and where my family originates to always let people know that I am a Mexican male. Going to school, filling out paperwork for ethnic background, and even getting asked what part of Mexico you are from (Yucatan, Mexico if you want to know as well). So, Mexican male is what I choose because the stereotypes and the articles I found them to be comforting for how true some of them are.

The first thing I want to talk about is one of my favorite comedians and his name is Gabriel Iglesias also, known as Fluffy. Fluffy was a great learning experience by figuring out how to dive deep in critical thinking with his comedy. It’s also a great way to learn about experiences when Fluffy talks about his past and what he has done. First diving into stereotypes is something he himself brings up. An example of this is when he talks to the audience on being a comedian for everyone. He doesn’t want the media to label him as a Hispanic comedian just because he is Mexican and speaks Spanish. He wants to be a like any other comedian in America like Louis C.K or Conan. With Conan, the media labels him as a comedian, but with Fluffy, they call him a Hispanic comedian. His comedy is for anyone that talks English. So why label him in another group? Now with this, I can see the reasoning for Fluffy, he doesn’t want them to lead people that he is a Hispanic comedian for he might lose the chance of people seeing him because they might think he will only speak in Spanish. While Fluffy does speak Spanish, people will still understand him, because he even says that he tries to keep the Spanish low. I would say the only time he speaks Spanish is when a friend or his mom speaks Spanish and he says it Spanish to the audience because it won’t translate as well if you would say it in English. I also understand him on this point because even in Spanish we use some slang in it. An example I can give is saying, “Que pedo?”

This translate to literally too, “What fart?”

This is because in a situation that someone might be mad, you can ask them, que pedo and it would roughly translate to what is your problem. Even explain that kills the slang and the joke with it. By Fluffy sticking to the joke with Spanish, it will come out better and he won’t have to kill the momentum of the joke with explaining it.

While Fluffy doesn’t want to be labeled as a Latino comedian, George Lopez is fine with being called a Latino comedian. The “George Lopez Show” is a great example of how he grew up in a rough situation and a rough neighborhood. His comedy shows that his mom was rough on him, he also talks about this in some of his special. I see this as a stereotype that becomes true in some cases. Many people from Mexican descent would say parents are rough on you. An example I could give is if a kid is trying to touch a stove that is hot, Mexican parents would tell you once to not touch it, but if the kid isn’t listening then the parents will encourage them to touch it. If the kid doesn’t listen, they will learn a lesson from the pain that happens. The experience I have had isn’t like his. My mom and dad are great parents not perfect, but they are great. They did everything they could to give me the chance to thrive in America, but in the case of George, some people would think he was abused as a child. So, this is a stereotype I see that can be true, but not in all cases. Even growing up in a Mexican household, anybody could tell you that they would be afraid of a slipper. Mexican moms would threaten you by taking off their slippers and chase you around the house for not doing the dishes, cursing in front of them, or even just watching too much television. They grew up with it, I grew up with it, and my kids are going to grow up with it. Maybe, depends on their temper.

The next thing that I would like to address is immigration. This is a subject that I have heard from people who are against and for immigration. This is a subject that is brought up in my family for a while because it’s the story of how they came from Mexico to the United States. Being a Mexican male I would get asked if I was born here or born in Mexico. I could see some of the readers as well getting curious to see what the answer is and I was born here in Portland, Oregon. I was raised here as well, but I stayed in Mexico for a while to get to know my family that is living in there. Even though this is getting off topic, I would like to talk about immigrant workers. I have worked in landscaping and in nursery’s in Oregon like many of the immigrants that come from Mexico to work. While I was doing these jobs, I could see how people that hire immigrants take advantage of them by paying them minimum wage and holding on to the payday checks for a long time. There isn’t anything that an immigrant worker can do because they get threatened with deportation and calling the police. Focusing on the bad parts isn’t what I want to with this paper so I will jump into some information. In a secondary source, I  found was immigration for Mexicans are going down (Zong and Batalova). People coming from China and India are taking the top spot for immigration while Mexican immigrants are returning back to Mexico. This is something that happens a lot with Mexican immigrants coming to the United States. They work here and send money back home to build a house and get the necessary things they need down in Mexico. After they are done, they return home. I have always heard of this with my parents. They want to return to Mexico but don’t want to leave their children here. This is most of the case for immigrants. They start a family here and start to learn the language and try to find better jobs, but if it’s not for that they return to Mexico. So, how does this affect me? I find it to be accurate that Mexican immigrants are working in these types of fields. This is because they are not qualified for other jobs that are easier like going into Burger King and taking orders. This is because they can’t speak English very well, and don’t have a high school diploma. It’s like my dad says, “I earn my living with my hands. Give me any job that requires the use of my hands I will get it done. This is why I like working in Landscape.”

This is true for many of the Mexican Immigrants that come here because they need to work for their family in Mexico. I talked to a friend down in Mexico and he told me that working to build a house in Mexico will lead you to be paid by the day for 50 Pesos. That almost 5 U.S dollars a day to build a house. Me, personally, I don’t care if someone calls me an immigrant. They have their facts wrong, and immigrants work very hard, so I am fine with that.

With that, I would like to jump into Danny Trejo. The Badass Mexican from Machete. This movie, if you haven’t seen it, is all violence that does not make sense. It’s an action movie with Danny Trejo. Danny brings more of a stereotype of playing a bad guy or someone who is violent. With this example, it brings in the stereotypes of Mexicans being related to drug cartels, or even smuggling them in. Danny plays these parts proudly because this is what he grew up with. Before becoming famous. Danny talks about how policemen have pulled 15 group of people and would pick out Trejo because of how he looked. He talks about how being influenced by his uncle led him to turn to drugs and armed robbery. This isn’t because he was a bad dude from the start, but he was influenced by it. Danny got out of prison and got sober by going to a 12-step program. With this, he became a sponsor with someone who was connected in the business of Hollywood. He got an acting career from someone who thought he was an add on for a scene for robbing banks. I can see Danny as an example of a bad Mexican dude. With this stereotype, I see how growing up in a rough neighborhood can influence people in drugs or gangs. With this he had his own family turn him to the life of crime and drugs. I can see anyone getting into the life of crime, not only Mexican males. This is an example of myself, growing up in Oregon on the more Eastside of Portland. I was one of the few Mexican kids in my school. While I hit puberty early in my life, I started to get taller and bigger. So, I started to get called the big Mexican dude. I was fine with this because it felt like a compliment. It was me, but I was considered scary. Lot of people would avoid me because they thought I was in a gang, or I would get into fights with them, but I was just this big dude. I’m a friendly guy, I think.

So now comes the conclusion of the page. I see these stereotypes as something I take with pride. Even though some of them can be bad, but let’s not focus on that. It’s like the experience of what George went through that I could relate with. It’s what fluffy is striving to be a comedian instead of a Latino Comedian. In another special of Fluffy is “Aloha Fluffy”, he talks about how he went to the middle east and was finally called an American Comedian over there. So, with this, I can see that being a Mexican male and see the stereotypes of Mexican males. It becomes comforting to see the good outcomes of it. It does become a little worrisome with being labeled a criminal, immigrant, or even scary, but it’s something I will pay to hopefully thrive in this country.

 

 

Reference

“Mexican Immigrants in the United States.” Migrationpolicy.org. N.p., 02 Mar. 2017. Web. 06 June 2017.

One thought on “What You Carry When You Are A Mexican Male

  1. Hi, cehococom I enjoyed reading your post.

    I don’t think that Mexicans in general do have a difficult time living in the United States. I know I have a friend form Mexico who attends Stanford University, and whose parents are engineers. From what I know they aren’t living a life in poverty, and they aren’t discriminated in the United States. Moreover, I know many other Mexicans living prosperous lives in the United States.

    Moreover, I believe that if Mexicans were discriminated in the United States then the number one song on the top billboard right now (which is essentially the most popular song today) wouldn’t be a Mexican song.

Comments are closed.